RWS 2.0 Revision 2019-07-13T01:31:55+00:00

Revision of the Responsible Wool Standard and the development of the Responsible Mohair Standard

Responsible Wool Standard

The Responsible Wool Standard (RWS) is now being revised. In response to a need from the industry for a mechanism for verifying how mohair is produced a Responsible Mohair Standard is being developed based on the RWS. A draft standard has been produced and is currently being piloted on farms. The development of this standard will be done alongside of the revision of the RWS in order to keep the two standards closely aligned.

 


The Revision Process

This is a multi-stakeholder process that follows the open and transparent principles, as defined by ISEAL’s Codes of Practice. You can read more in the Textile Exchange Standard Setting Procedures 2.1.

Participation

International Working Group

To register an interest in participation in the International Working Group please contact ResponsibleWool@TextileExchange.org . IWG Members include any interested party, and Voting Rights are granted to those that sign our Charter.

Other

You may also elect to receive updates on the progress of the development or revision. To be added to our stakeholder list and receive updates, send an email to ResponsibleWool@TextileExchange.org.

Feedback

Feedback on the Responsible Wool Standard can be provided by using this form.

Feedback on the Responsible Mohair Standard can be provided by using this form.

Feedback can also be submitted to ResponsibleWool@TextileExchange.org.

Decision Making

During the Development or Revision of a Standard, all decisions are made by consensus among the Voting Members of the International Working Group. You can read more in the Textile Exchange Standard Setting Procedures 2.1.

 


IWG Meetings


Next Meeting

Responsible Wool & Responsible Mohair IWG Call #1
Tuesday, July 16 at 9 AM Central, 10 AM Eastern, 3 PM UK, 4 PM CEST

Link to Join: https://zoom.us/j/956062176 

Agenda:

  • Introduction to the International Working Group and Revision Process
  • RWS and RMS Theory of Change
  • RWS and RMS Terms of Reference
  • Feedback request


RWS/RMS IWG Call Schedule 
(subject to change):

All calls scheduled at 9 AM Central, 10 AM Eastern, 3 PM UK, 4 PM CEST (may be affected by seasonal time change)

  1. July 16
  2. July 30
  3. August 13
  4. September 3
  5. September 10
  6. September 17
  7. September 24
  8. October 1
  9. October 14 (launch of Public Consultation)


Meeting Notes:

Date Notes Slide Deck
July 16, 2019