Home 2018-10-30T15:50:55+00:00

Responsible Wool Standard

The Responsible Wool Standard is a voluntary global standard that addresses the welfare of sheep and of the land they graze on.

Latest  News

Be a Featured Supplier!

The Responsible Wool Standard has a new web feature presenting certified suppliers from across the [...]

Season’s Greetings from the RWS

As we close out 2018, we would like to thank all of our stakeholders for [...]

Accepting Feedback: RWS 2.0 Revision Launch

The Responsible Wool Standard is pleased to announce that we are beginning the feedback process for the [...]

Webinar: The Responsible Wool Standard & Mohair

Wednesday, November 7th @ 7:00-8:00AM PST/ 10:00-11:00AM EST/ 4:00-5:00PM CEST Register here After [...]

See All News >>

Our Goals

The goals of the Responsible Wool Standard are to provide the industry with a tool to recognize the best practices of farmers; ensuring that wool comes from farms with a progressive approach to managing their land, and from sheep that have been treated responsibly.

How does the RWS work?

The Responsible Wool Standard is an independent, voluntary standard, which means that companies can choose to become certified. On farms, the certification ensures that sheep are treated with respect to their five freedoms and also ensures best practices in the management and protection of the land. Through production, certification ensures that wool for certified farms is properly identified and tracked.

RWS Key Points

Want to Learn More?

We welcome you to get in touch with any questions you may have about the RWS, or if you would like to learn more about the RWS Roundtable and how to get involved.

Contact Us